//
you're reading...
Current Event, Media

Iron Man 2 wasn’t X2, but it wasn’t Rise of the Silver Surfer either

It’s taken me almost a whole week to process Iron Man 2, which is why this review is so late. Not because it was such a great movie that I had to think on things until they seeped in and merged with my heart. No, this was more of an “I have to like this movie, right? I need to just give it time and I’ll love it.”

Yeah, that never happened.

Not to say that Iron Man 2 is a bad movie. It’s just not a great movie.

Let’s first just talk about the elephant in the room. Don Cheadle is not Terrance Howard. Now, I’m used to black people doing the switch-up on the random (refer to Aunt Viv on Fresh Prince) but, really, I didn’t transition too well to the new Rhody. Actually, I was ok with him being Rhody, but I just couldn’t take him as War Machine. First off, Don Cheadle is a small man, to say the very least. Not very bulky. Not very tall. I just don’t believe that he would have been able to handle the War Machine suit, unless it was super fortified and had platforms for him to stand on built in. That’s nit-picky, I know, but it’s all in the details.

Plot-wise, we were served up our normal serving of a weak plot that I’ve become accustomed to with Marvel sequels. Iron Man 2 gave in to the same demons as Spiderman 3, and gave us way too many plots and persona issues to deal with, glazed over with a heaping helping of special effects so we wouldn’t notice. I did enjoy the look into the issues that Tony Stark dealt with, something that was always so eloquently done in the original comic book series, but everything else was just so…”everywhere”, making it a little hard to keep up.

Casting-wise, I was very pleased with Mickey Rourke’s portrayal of Whiplash. I love Rourke for the simple fact that you can imagine the smell of cheap vodka and body odor as soon as he walks on the screen. It’s so great. And the Russian accent – priceless. “I want my burd.” Oh…too much.

I understand that Samuel L. Jackson is one of those guys who won’t turn down a role. But his portrayal of Nick Fury, leader of SHIELD, came off as a little corny to me. Not his fault. He just had the worst script on Earth. “Please come down from the donut”? Really? And not one F-bomb. I’m not even sure he said the B-word. Maybe the A-word, but that’s it. As my mother says, “Samuel L. Jackson curses so well that he makes the bad words sound like regular words.” We were robbed I tell you.

Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Pots was irritatingly awful. As in, there were moments where I wanted to just punch her in the face. Kinda like watching Rachel Bilson in Jumper, or Meghan Fox in Transformers. And Scarlett Johanson as Natalie/Natasha just seemed like a loose end of eye candy thrown in for the cool fight scene at the end and the little itty bitty dresses. Disturbing how small she got for the movie. It kinda freaked me out.

Who else? Oh, Sam Rockwell as Hammer. Got a real kick out of that guy.

I don’t really even need to mention Robert Downey’s Tony Stark. Seriously, best Marvel casting move ever, second only to Hugj Jackman’s Wolverine and Patrick Stewart as Professor X.

Of course, Iron Man 2 looked spectacular. Not that we’re surprised. I was so glad that they didn’t go the route of other recent blockbusters and throw some random 3D in there just to be cool. I didn’t see it in IMAX, but I’m sure that it would have been an experience, though not one worth $3+ extra dollars a ticket.

All in all, Iron Man 2 was just another generic summer comic hero blockbuster. I won’t be rushing to see it again, but it was decent enough that I’d probably watch it again if the boyfriend buys it on Blu Ray.

Oh, and no rendering errors that I noticed. Always important. ::wink::

Discussion

One thought on “Iron Man 2 wasn’t X2, but it wasn’t Rise of the Silver Surfer either

  1. Nice review! Thanks for sharing this. I personally love this movie. It may not deserve an Oscar, but it is really entertaining.

    Posted by music | June 18, 2010, 3:40 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
