//
you're reading...
Current Event, Personal

Dear Santa, (my social justice wishlist)

Dear Santa, or President Obama, or God (whichever of you is least busy and can get the most people to listen):

I’ve been a very good girl this year. I registered to vote. I recycled. I just finished my second Americorps term. I even threw a fundraiser for UNICEF. Not tooting my own horn, just making you aware of things you may not have noticed.

Either way, I have a wishlist of things I’d like for Christmas. It’s very short so it won’t take too long to read. Here it is:

1. Global love. I know, I’m getting the big stuff out of the way first. So, right now we have too much hate. People hate other races. People hate other genders. People hate people of other life-styles. And, even worse, they hate themselves, which just keeps the hate going. I’m not sure how you could make this happen, but you’ve done bigger things before, so I’m sure this isn’t impossible. And it doesn’t need to be 100%. There are some people who just don’t believe in you. That’s ok. But a little progress towards love would be awesome. Or even tolerance. Tolerance would even do for now.

2. World peace. Just kidding. No, really, that would be awesome. But OK, so #2. Can we have new, common-sense universal unifier people? Lady Gaga and Kanye West just aren’t it. She’s Woman of the Year and he’s the “Voice of Our Generation”. That basically makes them the fastest paraplegics on Earth. (By the way, I mean no disrespect to paraplegics at all. I understand that they can be very fast as well.  I was just trying to make a point.) Either way, it’s bad, and we need new spokespeople to herd this generation of lost sheep back to the pen of promise, productivity and peace. People who have respect for others, and for themselves and will prove to be productive, proper pants-wearing, sober role models for kids. And I don’t just mean the babies. I’m 24, and I’m trapped in a generation of basic fools. I mean, you’ve done it in the past. Surely there’s someone who can do it. I’d volunteer, but, as you know, I’m socially awkward.

3. Equality. Yes, I’d like the playing fields to be leveled a little. It’s hard to compete in a world where you have nothing while there are people who have everything. Just toss the underdogs in life a few bones and I’m sure we’ll see huge changes. I dunno. I can’t speak for everyone, but I’m sure that a little goes a longer way with people who have nothing and are just grateful for something. We’re not poor. We’re under-resourced. People need to understand that.

So, there’s my list. I hope to hear from you soon. You only have five days, but I’ve seen you do bigger things in less time. Thanks for your time,

me

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
