//
you're reading...
Current Event, Media

Adam Lambert GMA performance canceled…and he deserved it

You may be surprised by what you’re about to read…or maybe not. I dunno…

As I’m writing this, #ShameOnYouABC is a trending topic on Twitter. Apparently, ABC canceled Adam Lambert (American Idol Gaytastic Playboy)’s appearance on Good Morning America due to his performance on the AMAs a few nights ago, sending online communities…well, all a-twitter, calling ABC a bunch of homophobic bigots.

However, I have to admit, I agree with ABC on this one.

I saw Adam Lambert’s performance. It was totally unacceptable. S&M and leather and leashes…ok maybe that stuff is for dramatic affect. But simulated oral and anal sex and making out with men on stage….come on. I understand pushing the limits, but there’s a tasteful way to do everything and that wasn’t it.

And I’m not just picking on Mr. Lambert. I wasn’t a huge fan of Madonna’s MTV wedding-themed kisses with Britney Spears and Christina Aguliara back in the early 2000s. I hate any type of media that blatantly sends derogatory messages to teens about sex and hetero/bi/homo- sexuality.

Anyway, back to GLambert. So his performance at the AMAs landed him in hot water with ABC and his performance on Good Morning America was canceled. An ABC spokeswoman said, “Given his controversial American Music Awards performance, we were concerned about airing a similar concert so early in the morning.” I think that’s reasonable. I mean, Good Morning America is a little more family friendly. No need to have someone talking about how hard things are about to get for their lover so early in the morning, you know?

I can’t help but laugh at all of the Twitter folk and their silly posts on the #ShameOnYouABC trending topic. Stuff like:

“So, @Rihanna can practically scream about suicide, but @adamlambert can’t kiss a keyboardist?! Um, yeah #ShameOnYouABC”. Like, those are totally different issues. I admit, I’m not in love with Rihanna new “oh-so-emo” persona, but suicide isn’t a new topic for musicians. Turning your AMA performance into a bacchanalian sex fest is a whole other thing.

Then there’s the “#ShameOnYouABC is trending! Good! @AdamLambert Re-tweet! Hypocrisy sucks! No more double standards! End homophobia!” started by Perez Hilton. I don’t really see the double standard here. I know that people are like “Oh Miley Cyrus dances on poles and no one’s stopping her.” True, and she’s SO wrong for that, but she’s not singing about how she can’t wait to screw her boyfriend either. And I’m sure that Miley Cyrus is getting tons of backlash about her naughty behavior as well.

This was a favorite of mine: “#SHAMEONYOUABC for real. We are obviously a country the still lives in the Dark Ages. In Europe they show naked models on billboards!” Sure, and in certain countries they mutilate little girl’s vaginas and they think they’re cutting edge too. Doesn’t make it right. We’re obviously beyond the dark ages, because we have openly gay musicians, and we love them. We’re moving every day towards more acceptance of homosexuality. (Not fast enough, but then again, this stunt Mr. Lambert pulled really isn’t helping.)

What’s the conclusion here? I don’t think that there really is one. I just think that instead of blindly rallying around Adam Lambert because he’s cute, and gay and quasi-“talented”, let’s objectively look at his AMA performance for what is was: blatant misguided over-hyped-up sexuality. And instead of pointing fingers at Adam or ABC or the AMA folk, just look at how what we show on TV affects the impressionable minds that that it in.

I dunno. You take a look at it and tell me what you think.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Adam Lambert GMA performance canceled…and he deserved it

  1. I thought his vocals were ATROCIOUS.

    Posted by VALERIA | November 24, 2009, 9:57 am
  2. Very well put, I agree with you.

    Posted by Mjay | November 24, 2009, 10:08 am
  3. Do you even know what the name of the song was. It sounded awful. I am so tired of this crap. There are no true performers anymore. I didn’t even watch the AMA’s. But I can’t seem to steer clear of this pile of poo. I don’t care if he wants to go down on every guy he meets. Do it in private. He’s turned this into a gay thing. No it’s not because your gay. It is because it is in bad taste.
    If you have any yalent then you don’t have to use the shock and awe crap. People wonder why I don’t watch American Idol, E! , and all the other tabloid shows on tv. These people are just a waste of air and space. Quit giving in to the crap they do and just boycott advertisers and turn the channel. Ht them in the money belt.

    Posted by Amy | November 24, 2009, 12:37 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Yeah…you might be a bit of a douchebag if you’re Adam Lambert… « social.butterfly.experiment - November 25, 2009

Leave a Reply

Categories

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
