//
you're reading...
Media, Personal

Wordle Wednesday: Wale’s “Diary”

Of course, there’s a story…

“Attention Deficit” is easily one of the best albums this year. All killer tracks. “Diary” is definitely one of my faves. Check it out:

So the first time I heard “Diary”, I instantly thought of my current relationship. My boyfriend is amazing, but I have a lot of baggage from a random assortment of past relationships. He deals with it with grace and love, but I am so sure that I try his patience sometimes with my inability to believe that things just really are this perfect and he really is just that wonderful.

The first time we were in his car and this song came on, he said, “This is you” and left it at that. No other words. So I read the words of this song, and now I have a whole different aspect on him and on our relationship. I know this may sound lame, but I hope that this song has touched more hearts than just mine.

Here are the lyrics:

Him: If I told you I wanted to talk to you, you’d think I’m tryna holla at you, and maybe I am but you wouldn’t hear me out anyway’s would you?

Rather lose love than to move on never knowing what it feels like. Short days, long nights. By the phone, no call. Need a clear mind ’cause I been blind, got me goin’ down that road. Heart made of stone, far away from home. Black woman you cold.  Every problem you ever had with another man I gotta face. Started off on thin ice. I’m still here but I can’t skate. Slow sink, can’t breath, no remorse. Don’t think. Listen to your friend. Get another man for a minute then repeat.

“Queen”- you deserve the title but she rejects what I give while she nurse the wounds by them. Tried them didnt work. Diary of a black girl…

Her: I wonder why I sit and cry. Wish I could shed all these tears. I’m down and out. I’ll keep it moving and tryna get out. I don’t know how to move on, where I went wrong. I wish I could live with no fear. So down and out. I’ll keep it moving and tryna get out. Somehow…

Him: Raised by a momma who (who) hate her baby father so (so) she don’t have a problem with (with) saying “Fuck a nigga” quick, (quick). I’m just tryna be the one who never run but you run away from me. Girlfriend’s man cheat (cheat). Why not me the same thing? She cant see in me what i see in her. This pain she inherited can’t be reversed. I can’t even stay living in the shade of all the motherfuckers who played you. The irony in that is that I aint even that, but you coulda been these pages.

“Wife”- you deserve the label but (but) you been hurt before so you don’t feel you’re able. Tried them didn’t work. Got impossible standards. Nothing that I ever do works. Diary of a black girl…

See all I wanna do is be relevant. Just tell me that I ever meant anything or, that you could ever see me and you in another light. But its like the dark women endures  the darkest nights by the wrong man. See all of them have made you incapable of a first impression. What it do is I channel my aggression with no cable or antenna, just intentions to impress you if capable. Hoping that the material possesions can materialize to a better you. Cars, nothing I drive can drive you out of this state of mind for such an ugly picture and money, nothing I buy can buy more time for your ears to tell your heart to listen to it. Diamonds, a girls best friend is what they say but believe me with the right allegiance shorty you gonna shine anyways, and everyday that goes by is a couple more lines in her diary. The day before is better than the present, so anyone presented in her presence is doing these life sentences. There’s no key for release, no reason to be around. Her mind’s in the clouds She writes it all down in her diary.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
