//
you're reading...
Current Event, Personal

Your true colors are beautiful like a rainbow…(TWLOHA Day)

Now, I can cover up my scars with love.

Today is To Write Love on Her Arms Day. All over the US, and maybe even the world, people write the word “love” on their arms in celebration of life and to respect those that we have lost due to addiction, self-mutilation and suicide.

To Write Love on Her Arms (or TWLOHA) is a great organization. When I was younger, they didn’t exist, so I (and a few people I knew) had to suffer in silence, and deal with issues like suicide and self-mutilation alone. When I was dealing with issues of addiction in my community, I didn’t necessarily turn to TWLOHA, but it was helpful to know that there was a community like that that existed. I guess it just made me feel less alone.

As TWLOHA says on their website, To Write Love On Her Arms Day is not about fashion. Or trendiness.

We’re inviting people to fight for their lives and for the lives of their friends. We’re inviting people to believe better things. …

Let’s continue to fight to figure out what this word “love” means. Let’s wrestle with to find how it looks and how it sounds – maybe something like humility and confidence and kindness, maybe honesty and compassion…

We’re in all these things together. It’s bigger than cute and louder than fashion.

In all of this, only one thought, and one song comes to mind. I know it may sound corny, but I’ve been listening to Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colors” all morning.

Here are the lyrics. I see them more as a love letter in the non-romantic way. I send these words out today to the TWLOHA community, and to all people who are or ever have thought about committing suicide, cutting, or addiction, and to those dealing with it now.

You with the sad eyes. Don’t be discouraged. Oh, I realize it’s hard to take courage. In a world full of people, you can lose sight of it all and the darkness inside you can make you fell so small.

But I see your true colors shining through. I see your true colors, and that’s why I love you. So don’t be afraid to let them show. Your true colors, true colors, are beautiful like a rainbow.

Show me a smile then. Don’t be unhappy. Can’t remember when I last saw you laughing. If this world makes you crazy and you’ve taken all you can bear, you call me up because you know I’ll be there.

And I’ll see your true colors shining through. I see your true colors, and that’s why I love you. So don’t be afraid to let them show. Your true colors, true colors, are beautiful like a rainbow.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Your true colors are beautiful like a rainbow…(TWLOHA Day)

  1. This is a nice post.

    Posted by Rex Regis | November 13, 2009, 5:21 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
