//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Closing the door on yet another type of love


Another example of how media priorities are totally out of order…

I waited to write this blog post because I was looking for some huge media wave to start. I didn’t realize that something so huge was going to just be blip on the screen, while the story of a boy in a balloon has quasi-taken over the media’s attention for the past few days.

I’m referring to the Louisiana justice of the peace who refused to marry an inter-racial couple, stating that,

I don’t do interracial marriages because I don’t want to put children in a situation they didn’t bring on themselves. I feel the children will later suffer.

Like, thank you so much for saving all those poor little inter-racial babies while perpetuating the racism that you are supposed to be protecting them from. Your heart was SO in the right place, eh?

He later went on to say,

I’m not a racist. I just don’t believe in mixing the races that way. I have piles and piles of black friends. They come to my home, I marry them, they use my bathroom. I treat them like everyone else.

I love this quote. Just love it. Basically, is he saying that it’s cool for black people to exist but he just doesn’t want them marrying his women and making babies? That’s kinda…well…racist? Oh, and thanks for letting us use your bathrooms and stuff. ‘Preciate it.

This whole situation makes me feel a little creeped out, like this guy calls black people “colored” in the privacy of his own home and thinks that it’s OK. That might be a stretch, but I’m still uncomfortable with his presence.

Can we call this racial discrimination, though?

The UN defines racial discrimination in this way:

the term “racial discrimination” shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life. ‘[3]

If that’s the case, then the answer is yes. Yes, this Justice of the Peace blatantly discriminated against this couple by refusing to marry him.

So why isn’t the media covering this?

Is it because the government’s M.O is to tell people who they can and cannot legally love and get away with it (Prop8 anyone?), or is it because racism isn’t a hot topic right now

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
