//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

ADORE-chester!

I’ve lived in Dorchester for about a year and a half. A Baltimore transplant, I’m familiar with city living, and I love it. I’ve lived in a few different cities and I’ve never loved a city like I love Boston. More than that, I’ve come to call Dorchester my home, and am proud to be a Dot Rat.

So, I present to you, the Social.Butterfly.Experiment’s top reasons why Dorchester rocks:

  1. Dorchester is a spectrum of light in Boston, and each color represents a different neighborhood. Take a minute to wrap your brain around that metaphor. … I love that, walking thorough Dorchester, you seamlessly transition through several very different neighborhoods, each with their own diamonds in the rough.
    • You’ve got Lower Mills, with the Ledge and Common Ground.
    • The Codman Square Health Center is a huge presence in that area.
    • Ashmont holds a special place in my heart forever, since that’s where I call home.
    • Fields Corner = Blarney Stone and bubble tea. Yum!
    • Savin Hill is a great spot for authentic feeling Irish pubs.
    • Neponset is home to the Mud House, some of the best coffee in Dorchester.
    • Adams Village has Windy City Pizza and China Sky. Great Friday night take out spots.
  2. The Red Line. I love love love love LOVE the Red Line. With all it’s lateness and delays, it’s still only a 15-20 minute ride to downtown Boston. The Red Line goes from Ashmont to Alewife and hit all the essential Hub Hotspots on the way: Andrews, Broadway, South Station, Park St., Downtown Crossing, Charles MGH, Harvard, MIT, Central, Porter and Davis. It’s basically a lifeline to everywhere in Boston.
  3. Ashmont Hill. “The way city living should be.” I love that slogan. It’s so true. I’m blessed to be living in Ashmont Hill. It’s such a great neighborhood. My awesome neighbors make it feel like a real community. It’s great to live in a tucked away little piece of quasi-suburbia in the middle of an urban area. And I have to say, it doesn’t hurt to be sandwiched between two of the greatest little local neighborhoods in the city – Ashmont Grill and Tavolo. If you’re ever in the neighborhood, stop by and visit. Best bartenders in the area, maybe even the city!
  4. Dorchester loves it’s organic food. It’s so easy to become a healthy localvore living here. First off, there are farmer’s markets (some organic) all over Dorchester on varying days throughout the week. The one at Codman Square even has great rewards for people who buy veggies with an EBT card! Then there’s Dot2Dot, over on Dorchester Ave., which taps into the farmer’s market feel providing vegan friendly options for diners on their already amazing menu. And you can’t forget Common Ground in Lower Mills, which serves only yummy homemade organic food and the most amazing smoothies in the world.
  5. Diversity. One of the things I didn’t really like about Baltimore was the lack of diversity in certain neighborhoods. Not an issue in Dorchester at all. While certain neighborhoods may have higher concentrations of certain cultures over others, every area in Dorchester is home to a rainbow of cultures, races, lifestyles and classes. And the best thing is that we celebrate the diversity through things like Dorchester Day, the Ashmont Hill Yard Sale, and open studio events.

Feeling the Dorchester love? Check out these other great Dorchester blog participating in the ADORE-chester Project today!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “ADORE-chester!

  1. Such great comments from a recent transplant! How could I have missed adding Dot-2-Dot and Common Ground on my Adore-chester list?
    We used to call the Red Line the Dread Line. Many years ago the delays were stupendous. They’ve lessened. Quick ride downtown and to Cambridge. I used to read books to my children on the Red Line when we made our way home from their school.
    Ah-dorchester.

    Posted by Can-Can | October 4, 2009, 4:34 am
  2. Diversity is certainly one of Dorchester’s best characteristics. I’d love to see the stats on the nationality breakdown, I’m betting we’ve got nearly every country represented in our great neighborhood.

    P.S. Saw you used my photo for the lead, which I’m 100% cool with, but for future reference to be in compliance with its’ license (a very loose and open creative commons license that allows for using, sharing, remixing etc.), you should list an attribution for the photo, either a link to my blog or my flickr page/that photo page on flickr, would do nicely. Here’s a link to the license for your reference.

    Posted by Adam Pieniazek | October 4, 2009, 10:43 am
  3. Transplant myself from Cleveland. The diversity and true intermingling of races/ethnicities — be they at Shawmut Station or at Dot2Dot Cafe is so refreshing. Thanks for your list, Social Butterfly.

    Posted by DottieHottie | October 5, 2009, 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
