//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Seven+ Habits of Highly Ineffective People

Taking a break from my normal soapbox to give props where they are most certainly due.

We’ve all heard of Covey’s Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, right?:

  1. Be Proactive
  2. Begin with the End in Mind
  3. Put First Things First
  4. Think Win/Win
  5. Seek First to Understand, Then to be Understood
  6. Synergize
  7. Sharpen the Saw

Personally, I’ve never read any of Covey’s books. I find self-help and life-instructional books to be a little oppressive and ineffective, as my life is SO far away from the standards of normalcy. Either way, his seven principles have apparently guided tons of people to more productive lives. In fact, we’re using his “Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teenagers” series as leadership training for our ducks (aka Youth Staff) this summer.

But fear not my fellow slackers and procrastinators. From the brain of Evan Donovan, Drupal ninja and fellow blogger and coworker, comes the Seven Habits of Highly Ineffective People:

  1. Procrastination
  2. Blaming Other People
  3. Thinking of Ways It Can’t Be Done
  4. Ignoring Others; Refusing Help
  5. Surrounding Yourself with Distractions
  6. Not Sleeping
  7. Living on Ramen

I’m not sure where this list came from, or why it was created, but I love it. I’m sure that at one point in my life ::cough cough:: college…I was a walking, talking, breathing example of how to be the most ineffective person possible. Ah, the memories. Well, I don’t really remember much. But yeah, I think that I’d add a few to the list:

  1. Being More Concerned With What “Your Competitors” Are Doing
  2. Spending More Time Building Up Your Hype & Less Time Living Up To It
  3. Being Silent
  4. Living in and Focusing on the Past

Any other additions? I’d love to get a dialogue started on this. Maybe even turn it into a panel…

UPDATE: Evan told me the back story behind his post. Darn my stupid lack of memory. Evan was referring to the fact that, instead of teaching our youth staff how to be productive, we should make them aware of the signs of ineffective people, just for fun.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Seven+ Habits of Highly Ineffective People

  1. A common trait of the ineffective: zero follow through. No call. No email. No response to your emails or calls. And then you see them a month or two later, and they’re like “we need to get together and talk”.

    Lame.

    Posted by Al Willis | August 19, 2009, 5:49 am
  2. I totally agree with #4 ignoring others, refusing help. I would say another trait of ineffective people
    “not being a team player”
    “no desire for advancement/improvement” which sort of interrelates with others on the list.
    I would add one related to office politics “gossiping.”

    Posted by @natechmission | August 19, 2009, 6:59 am
  3. I’d add as a corollary to your first addition: Copying what someone else is doing (as I like to say, copies lose resolution).

    Posted by Tamsen (@tamadear @Sametz) | August 20, 2009, 12:14 pm
  4. Thanks for the link! I like your additions. They exemplify bad habits from a more collective, organizational perspective.

    Just created a revised version of the list with an all new, original bad habit, and which correlates them with the original 7 habits: http://donovan.covblogs.com/archives/037777.html.

    Posted by Evan Donovan | August 21, 2009, 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
