//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

PodCamp Boston (PCB4) Review…

Let me just preface this with two things: 1) I wrote this sans-caffeine on a Monday morning. 2) This is just a quick overview. I have a few #pcb4-related posts coming in the hours/days to come…

So I just got back from PodCamp Boston, held at the gorgeous UMass Boston campus. Let me just say that, had I lived in Boston in 2002, I would have ended up at UMass Boston and done absolutely nothing. It’s SO pretty! Beaches and lawns and great chairs…but yeah…let’s focus.

PodCamp was amazing! 300-or-so techies and social media gurus in one building sharing ideas and just having a great time. The halls were basically pulsating with energy. So great. I have to say that, as I come into my own as a member of the social media community, I met a few people this weekend who I want to emulate in my career. Definitely found my calling there (which makes it hard to go back to a job that SUCKS!…but anyway…)

There were lots of great things about PodCamp, and a few things that weren’t so great. A lot of the planned  sessions were awesome, my favorites being CC Chapman’s Sunday post-lunch “What Social Media Isn’t” session and the “Measuring Social Media Impact” session (where the speaker didn’t show up and some other guy just led the discussion on the fly). The food was…decent, and the location was, as I said before, perfect. The coordinators also did a great job at planning lots of down time for side conversations and impromptu sessions. And the people. The people who came out to PodCamp were really what made it great for me. I’ve never met so many…social…people. And I guess that that comes with the territory. You might want to be a social person if you’re going to be a leader in Social Media, eh?

Anyway, there were a couple of not-so-good issues as well. There were small things, like the lack of decent wi-fi, the fact that the rooms were freezing and the absence of good free stuff and tee-shirts. Yes, let me say that again. There were no tee-shirts. What the hell? That made me a little sad. There was not one piece of PodCamp Boston schwag in the whole place. Lame.

I also kinda wandered into a few “not so great” discussions. The Boston 2.0 session was really a funnel of bullshyt from the slimy government types to the masses of non-idealist, realist masses.  I think they were hoping for a more suburban crowd. Instead, they found themselves in battle with a few educated, well-informed people who basically popped the bubble of crap.

And then there was the “Girl Power” outdoor session, which really warrants it’s own blog post. All I have to say is that that self-hate is never sexy.

I also enjoyed the rogue session: “Keeping it Real: Humanism, Dissent & Conversation”, led by a few of my new found pals in the third floor hallway, because we couldn’t find a real room, which is a whole other story. Either way, it was a great way to end the weekend, talking with people about how we can open doors to community through what we do in social media. I think that I’ll have to write more on that topic later as well…

Either way, it was awesome. Can’t wait til next year. Great introduction to the Boston side of social media…

Discussion

3 thoughts on “PodCamp Boston (PCB4) Review…

  1. nice sum-up. and up so quickly!

    Posted by Todd Randolph | August 10, 2009, 5:27 am
  2. Gotta agree about the lack of swag. I get the need to cut costs in this economy, for sure, and I’m sure that’s what it was. But I love event t-shirts and I’ve never been to a paid event that didn’t have them. Curious.

    I’m also writing a post on the women in tech discussion. But I’m not sure what you mean by “self hate is never sexy.” I agree, but not sure how it relates to that particular discussion.

    Posted by @sarahwurrey | August 10, 2009, 9:27 am
  3. I’m so glad you got to connect with lots of folks in the local social media scene and they got to connect with you.

    Good job with the PodCamp Boston overview; looking forward to reading more about your take on things.

    Posted by Al Willis | August 10, 2009, 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
